Logo der Universität Wien

I C E   C O N T R O L
Improving the forecasts of icing on wind turbines

The icing problem and project goals

Icing events at wind turbines in medium and high mountain areas (600-1500m altitude) cause unplanned downtimes and consequently severe balancing energy costs during winter time. Furthermore inaccurate icing forecasts lead to increased energy yield losses, additional costs due to unnecessary blade heating and additional personnel costs for starting the blade heating and for restarting the wind turbines. The expansion of wind turbines in medium and high altitude regions in Austria will increase the need for precise icing forecasts. The project ICE CONTROL aims at achieving a measureable improvement of icing forecasts with respect to current standard.

Numerical weather prediction, on-site measurements, and verification

Icing forecasts are produced by a model chain consisting of a meteorological model and an icing model and are applied to the rotor blade. Each element of the model chain is affected by large uncertainty. During the project, the total level of uncertainty will be quantified by using an ensemble approach, producing probabilistic forecasts. The latter will represent the major innovative contribution of the project and will generate added value for an optimized operational management of wind turbines. Meteorological model ensembles will be produced by varying the input data and the turbulence and microphysics parametrization schemes. These ensembles will serve as input data for the selected icing models. Specific measurement campaigns will be conducted to collect icing data from a wind turbine useful for model validation and forecast verification. The concept and selection of the measurement equipment will be based on results of an ongoing study at VGB PowerTech e.V. (European technical association for power and heat generation).

The approach's added value

The added value of the proposed method is quantified in several steps.

  1. By using icing data from a wind turbine from a specific measurement campaign of meteorological parameters and icing parameters for the verification of the probabilistic forecasts.
  2. Through benchmarking of current the state-of-the-art icing forecasts with probabilistic forecasts – such a benchmark test has never been conducted before.
  3. By implementing an innovative cost-loss model to estimate the added value of the proposed approach in terms of money.
  4. By testing the suitability of the approach at several icing-prone wind parks in Austria.

The project consortium

The project consortium consists of members of the Central Institute for Meteorology and Geophysics (ZAMG), the Department of Meteorology and Geophyics of the University of Vienna, the Austrian energy supplier VERBUND Hydro Power GmbH, and the Swiss company Meteotest. The consortium is designed to combine all the necessary expertise in each single field (meteorology, icing on structures, measurement and wind park operation). When the project is completed a fully tested concept for innovative operation management under icing conditions based on probabilistic forecast will be available.

Funding agency: This project is funded through the Climate and Energy Fund Austria and will be conducted as a part of the Energy Research Programme 2015.

Fig. 1: Picture of a rotor blade and surrounding wind turbines in VERBUND windpark Ellern, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany (Copyright VERBUND (Fink)).
Fig. 2: A case of severe icing at the rotor blade and turbine hub from one of the past winters. (Copyright VERBUND (Fink))

Researchers

Manfred Dorninger (IMGW Principal Investigator)
Stefano Serafin
Lukas Strauss

Collaborating institutions

Central Institute for Meteorology and Geodynamics (ZAMG) (Principal investigator)
VERBUND Hyro Power GmbH
Meteotest

Further Reading

Recent research contributions

Links


Font:

Department of Meteorology and Geophysics
University of Vienna

UZA II
Althanstraße 14
1090 Vienna

T: +43-1-4277-537 01
F: +43-1-4277-95 37
E-Mail
University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0
Lastupdate: 20.02.2017 - 16:58

Logo der Universität Wien

I C E  C O N T R O L
Verbesserung der Prognose von Vereisung an Windkraftanlagen

Das Vereisungsproblem und Projektziele

Vereisungsepisoden führen an Windkraftanlagen (WKA) in mittelhohen und höheren Lagen (600-1500 m Seehöhe) zu ungeplanten Stillstandszeiten und in weiterer Folge zu massiven Ausgleichsenergiekosten im Winterhalbjahr. Darüber hinaus führen ungenaue Vereisungsprognosen zu erhöhten Ertragsverlusten, Kosten durch den unnötigen Betrieb der Rotorblattheizung und zu zusätzlichen Personalkosten zum Start der Rotorblattheizung und Wiederinbetriebnahme der WKA. Diese Problematik wird in Österreich durch den weiteren Ausbau von WKA an Standorten im erwähnten Höhenlagenbereich weiter zunehmen, wodurch es in Zukunft zu einer verstärkten Nachfrage nach präziseren Vereisungsprognosen kommen wird. Die Motivation des Projektes ICE CONTROL liegt in der messbaren Verbesserung dieser Vereisungsprognosen.

Numerische Wettervorhersage, Messungen an Windkraftanlagen und Verifikation

Vereisungsprognosen entstehen in einer Modellkette durch Prognosen der meteorologischen Modelle gekoppelt mit einem Vereisungsmodell und der Übertragung auf das Rotorblatt. Jeder dieser Prognoseschritte ist mit einer erheblichen Unsicherheit behaftet. Ziel des Projektes ist es, diese Unsicherheit durch Ensemble-Prognosen zu quantifizieren und aus den bekannten Unsicherheiten der Vereisungsprognose (Wahrscheinlichkeitsprognosen) einen Mehrwert im Sinne einer optimierten Betriebsführung zu erhalten. Dies stellt den wesentlichen Innovationsschritt dar. Die Ensembles werden durch Variation der Eingangsdaten und durch Variation der Turbulenz- und Wolkenphysikparametrisierung im meteorologischen Modell erzeugt und dann an die zu wählenden Vereisungsmodelle als Eingangsparameter weitergegeben. In einer im Rahmen des Projektes durchgeführten Messkampagne werden Vereisungsdaten für die Verifikation gewonnen. Die Konzeptionierung und Auswahl des Messequipments erfolgt auf Basis der Ergebnisse einer laufenden Studie des VGB PowerTech e. V. (europäischer technischer Fachverband für die Strom- und Wärmeerzeugung).

Der Mehrwert des verfolgten Ansatzes

Der Mehrwert dieses Ansatzes wird in mehreren Schritten quantifiziert.

  1. Durch Verifikation der Wahrscheinlichkeitsprognosen mittels eigens durchgeführter Messungen meteorologischer Parameter und Vereisungsparameter an einer WKA.
  2. Mittels Benchmarking derzeitiger „State-of-the-art“-Vereisungsprognosen mit den Wahrscheinlichkeitsprognosen – ein weiteres Novum, ein derartiger Benchmark-Test wurde noch nie durchgeführt.
  3. Durch ein innovatives Cost-loss-Modell zur monetären Abschätzung des Mehrwertes des gewählten Ansatzes.
  4. Durch Prüfung der Tauglichkeit des Ansatzes an mehreren vereisungsanfälligen Windparkstandorten in Österreich.

Das Projektkonsortium

Das Projektkonsortium besteht aus Vertretern der Zentralanstalt für Meteorologie und Geodynamik (ZAMG), des Insituts für Meteorologie und Geophyisk der Universität Wien, dem österreichischen Energieversorger VERBUND Hydro Power GmbH und der Schweizer Firma Meteotest. Das Projektkonsortium ist so konzipiert, dass Expertisen aus jedem Teilbereich (Meteorologie, Vereisung an Strukturen, Messung und Betrieb) vorhanden sind. Als Endergebnis liegt ein getestetes Konzept für eine innovative Betriebsführung unter Vereisungsbedingungen und unter unter Einbeziehung von Wahrscheinlichkeitsprognosen vor.

Fördergeber: Dieses Projekt wird aus Mitteln des Klima- und Energiefonds gefördert und im Rahmen des Energieforschungsprogramms 2015 durchgeführt.

Abb. 1: Foto eines Rotorblattes und umgebender Windkraftanlagen im VERBUND-Windpark Ellern in Rheinland-Pfalz, Deutschland. (Copyright VERBUND (Fink))
Abb. 2: Ein Fall starker Vereisung an Rotorblatt und Gondel aus einem der vergangenen Winter. (Copyright VERBUND (Fink))

Weiterführende Literatur

Aktuelle Forschungsbeiträge

Links

Institut für Meteorologie und Geophysik
Universität Wien

UZA II
Althanstraße 14
1090 Wien

T: +43-1-4277-537 01
F: +43-1-4277-95 37
E-Mail
Universität Wien | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Wien | T +43-1-4277-0
Letzte Änderung: 20.02.2017 - 16:58